Best Songs Ever: “Funky Stuff” by Kool & The Gang

“Paaaaaaar-taaaay! Paaaaaaar-taaaay!”

I’m not one to argue I’d be better off in another decade, but I imagine the parties had a different vibe with songs like “Funky Stuff” playing that I’d enjoy. You just don’t get these fun tunes at parties anymore.

More than likely, if you walk into a college party these days, anything from Drake to Skrillex is probably playing. Which is fine. Bass and trap music is something I like. Maybe it’s just curiosity driving my interest, but I’d love to hear things like this for once.

This is one of the most fun songs ever. When I say fun, I mean that it is the epitome of good vibes and happiness. It’s impossible for me not to smile once I hear the whistles. Next, the rising horns, the folding bass..shaky horns – and there it is. The singing comes in with the chanting: “Paaaaar-taaaaay!” 

From there on, there’s nothing else but the chorus (“I can’t get enough of that funky stuff!”) and the instrumental play between the Gang. I can’t imagine anything I’d rather hear at a celebration with all my friends. It’s the perfect song to put me in a good mood.

If you like “Funky Stuff” (how could you not?) then you’re in luck if you listen to the album it’s from: Wild and Peaceful. The next song, “More Funky Stuff”, is practically an encore as you’d imagine. I can’t think of many songs that deserve a slightly reworked track to follow other than this one.

You have to take a listen to the song below. On my way home this afternoon, I rediscovered the song and it blew me away all over again. Also, I might add that I think it’s one of the most appropriate opening tracks to an album that I’ve heard. Check it out.

-JC

One comment

Leave a Reply

