Guilty Pleasures: “Itty Bitty Piggy” by Nicki Minaj

Alright, go ahead and get all of the Nicki Minaj hate out of your system so that I can continue. Regardless of what the rest of the world thinks, and apparently it doesn’t largely disapprove, Nicki will always be one of my favorite artists to watch and listen to. Yes, she’s absolutely ridiculous. Yes, she feeds off of that ridiculousness to gain attention. But I figure why deny myself the hysterical entertainment that she provides? She’s absurd and under any other circumstances I know that I would hate her and that is exactly why I love her.

Itty Bitty Piggy is a song off of an early mixtape of hers called Beam Me Up Scotty, presented by DJ Holiday and the Trapaholics. The mixtape was a part of a series of mixtapes that MTV featured for artists that were all involved with Young Money/Cash Money.

It samples the beat from Donk by Soulja Boy but Nicki adds her own rap, an unbelievable set of verses that are just down right hilarious, not to mention clever. Not even 45 seconds into the song she stops the beat and tells DJ Holiday to back it up because she doesn’t approve of what he’s doing. As we’ve come to expect from her, she restarts the song and then raps solely about her superiority and perfection, something that I can’t help but laugh at. With lyrics like “That’s why I get more head than a pigtail/Pussy mansion, I’m gettin’ the munchies/I think I’ll have a rap bitch for my entree” and “Cause they be thinkin’ they can spit, spit shine my shoes/You know I keep a bad bitch let me sign your boobs” she takes no shame in showing off the brash, rude personality that we all know and love.

At the end she has the audacity to stop rapping, deciding that she’s done and has officially “just single-handedly annihilated you know every rap bitch in the building.” This song will never get old to me because it has one of the most hyper beats I’ve ever heard and every time I hear Nicki Minaj’s rap I’m instantly put in a good mood. We have to have someone to stick some amusement into our sometimes boring lives and I’d choose Nicki every time. I don’t even know why other girls bother anymore. She wins. You lose.

-RC

Leave a Reply

