Best Songs Ever: “Feel Good Inc.” by Gorillaz

Image

Feel Good Inc., the lead single from the second Gorillaz album Demon Days, was released 8 years ago this month. To date it stands as the highest chart topper for the group, peaking at #2 in the U.K. and #14 in the U.S. It was nominated for three Grammy Awards and won the award for Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals for their work with De La Soul.

The single was actually released on my tenth birthday in 2005 but I first heard the song a few years later and I was instantly mesmerized. The song combines a rather despondent theme with a melody that seems both futuristic and nostalgic. There are hundreds of different ways of analyzing and interpreting this song to come out with a meaning but I like to leave that to others so I don’t miss out on the brilliance that’s right on the surface. I can listen to this song any day at any time and it never fails to bring my spirits up. Its combination of hip-hop, techno and rap is ingenious.

I mean, who can resist a song whose hook is maniacal laughter?

-RC

Leave a Reply

