Listen: M.I.A.’s “Matangi Mix” Preludes New Album, Coming April 15th

M.I.A. recently released a non-album mix as a teaser to go along with new album details on her upcoming release Matangi, now set to release April 15. The mix is an extrended, strange blend of cultures that lacks any M.I.A. lyrics until five minutes into the track. Once she gets going, M.I.A. gets straight to the point: I’m thankful for my hands ’cause it’s a good thrower. I’m thankful for my body ’cause it’s a fuckin’ banger. Not really sure what to think of this track, but still really excited to see what M.I.A. came up with this time.

Also worth noting, Hit-Boy has produced seven tracks for the new album. Hit-Boy is best known as the man behind beats such as Watch the Throne’s “Niggas in Paris”, Cruel Summer’s “Clique”, and good kid, m.A.A.d city’s “Backseat Freestyle”.

Stream the “Matangi Mix” below. -JC

Leave a Reply

