Best Songs Ever: “The W.A.N.D.” by The Flaming Lips

Best Songs Ever is a column for Musical Chair writers to share the songs that always hit home for them. Regardless of their era or genre, these songs remain timeless to the writer sharing them.

When I think about the Best Songs Ever, “The W.A.N.D.” by The Flaming Lips immediately comes to mind. It is my number one favorite song, ever, I believe.

No song makes me happier. No song makes me dance more. No song makes me sing more. As soon as I hear those claps fade in, I know what’s coming. That buzzing pull-off riff is so simple but blows me away it sounds so loud and powerful with the loose drumming and Coyne’s singing backed by electronic choirs and backwards instrumentation.

“The W.A.N.D.” definitely has one of the most appropriate music videos of all time, as well. The band is playing the song in a room with bouncy balls flying in every direction and girls playing in roller skates. Nothing sounds more carefree than that.

To me, it’s the perfect Flaming Lips song. It’s weird, it’s fun, it’s catchy. It’s an anthem.

Best song ever.

-JC

Leave a Reply

